How Little / Much Isaac and I (and others around us) MATTER To My Doctors

According to research from the Pioneer Press website – where pharma payments to physicians are being documented in a database (2002 on…):

The OBGYN who prescribed me Zoloft and gave me samples of 50 mg tabs after having REMOVED the warning label…

Accepted $967 from pharmaceutical companies before his retirement in 2005. In 2004, he took $766 from pharma, and in 2005, $200. 

2004 was the year he prescribed me Zoloft following a brief approximately one-minute-long conversation. 

This is how little I mattered to him. Not enough time to talk to me – but enough time to bother to hand me drugs that could kill me and my baby. But he had enough time to do ‘education’ and attend dinners with pharma sponsors, and to fill out the reimbursement form for his $100 dinner or whatever the procedure is to get money from pharma.

Since he retired in 2005 (or 2006?) after coming down with an indiagnosable mystery disease… that’s where the Pioneer Press records end.

Now let’s have a look at the shocking record of payments to my second doctor – the shrink who was responsible for keeping me locked away from Isaac even though I was told that I could go home if I changed my mind about the admission – the man who lied and told me that Zoloft does not take effect fast enough to have been the culprit when I started questioning it – the man who told me he was forcing me to stay in the hospital against my will and there was nothing I could do about it, and that I could not go home until I became compliant with “my meds.” 

From 2002-2005 he took $11,590 from pharmaceutical companies. Many of these payments were for “honoraria” and “research projects.” So, Dr. G… how did the research turn out? How many dead women and babies did your research produce?

http://extra.twincities.com/CAR/doctors/default.asp

      PFIZER INC 2002 HONORARIA, PROFESSIONAL CONSULTING FEES, PAYMENT FOR REASONABLE EXPENSES FOR SERVING ON FACULTY OR OTHERWISE PARTICIPATING AT A PROFESSIONAL OR EDUCATIONAL CONFERENCE, MEETING OR RESEARCH PROJECT $1,500.00
      ASTRAZENECA PHARMACEUTICALS 2004 COMPENSATION FOR SERVICES $1,000.00
      ASTRAZENECA PHARMACEUTICALS 2004 COMPENSATION FOR SERVICES $1,000.00
      PFIZER INC 2004 HONORARIA, PROFESSIONAL CONSULTING FEES, PAYMENT FOR REASONABLE EXPENSES FOR SERVING ON FACULTY OR OTHERWISE PARTICIPATING AT A PROFESSIONAL OR EDUCATIONAL CONFERENCE, MEETING OR RESEARCH PROJECT $518.25
      PFIZER INC 2004 HONORARIA, PROFESSIONAL CONSULTING FEES, PAYMENT FOR REASONABLE EXPENSES FOR SERVING ON FACULTY OR OTHERWISE PARTICIPATING AT A PROFESSIONAL OR EDUCATIONAL CONFERENCE, MEETING OR RESEARCH PROJECT $515.00
      ASTRAZENECA PHARMACEUTICALS 2005 COMPENSATION FOR SERVICES $7,000.00
      ASTRAZENECA PHARMACEUTICALS 2005 EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT $56.70

One thought on “How Little / Much Isaac and I (and others around us) MATTER To My Doctors

  1. Just looked up a couple of other doctors as well… my endocrinologist who told me to stay on Zoloft even though I had a documented thyroid condition (if you look at the drug label it says not to take it if you have one) – also takes money from Pharma, and so did Isaac’s pediatrician. Nice.

Leave a Reply

